State-NewsRICHMOND, Va. (AP) _ Members of Virginia’s congressional delegation are reintroducing legislation to grant federal recognition to six Virginia Indian tribes. The legislation is being introduced Wednesday by Sen. Tim Kaine and Rep. Rob Wittman in their respective chambers. Others backing the legislation include Sen. Mark Warner and Reps. Bobby Scott, Gerry Connolly and Don Beyer. The legislation would grant federal recognition to the Chickahominy, the Eastern Chickahominy, the Upper Mattaponi, the Rappahannock, the Monacan and the Nansemond tribes. Kaine says it is a “grave injustice” that the tribes have not received federal recognition. Federal recognition would grant Virginia’s tribes legal standing and status in their relationships with the U.S. government. Benefits would include access to federal programs and the option to pursue the repatriation of historical and cultural artifacts.