Roonoke County SchoolsThe Roanoke County School Board approved the appointments of four new principals last night. All appointments are effective as of July 1.

Current William Byrd Middle School assistant principal Todd Kageals is the new principal at WBMS.  He replaces Tammy Newcomb, who earlier this year was named the new principal at William Byrd High School.

Karen Pendleton has been named the new principal at Penn Forest Elementary.  Pendleton replaces current Penn Forest principal Jean Brammer, who will retire at the end of the school year.

Pendleton is the current principal at Clearbrook Elementary School. She will be replaced by Beth Umbarger, who is the current assistant principal at Burlington Elementary.

Matt Johnson has been selected as the new principal at Masons Cove Elementary School. He is the current assistant principal at Mountain View Elementary. Johnson replaces Phyllis Satterfield, who has accepted a position as a Title I Intervention Specialist at Central Office.