Roanoke County SchoolsFrom Roanoke County Public Schools: ROANOKE – The Roanoke County School Board has appointed Donald T. Butzer as the new Catawba District member for the school board.  Mr. Butzer will fill a portion of the unexpired term of Tom McCracken, who resigned from the Catawba District school board seat in June.  Mr. Butzer will serve on the school board until the November 2016 special election is certified.

Mr. Butzer is a retired manager from Verizon where he was responsible for managing several aspects of business facilities and operations.

“We had five highly qualified candidates and considered all applicants very seriously. We want to express our thanks to all those who applied for this interim position,” said Roanoke County School Board Chairman Mike Wray.  “Our decision was made based on Mr. Butzer’s strengths and his knowledge of how the education system works.  Even after Don was unsuccessful in last November’s election, he remained very active and involved in our schools,” Wray said.