Kentucky Floods

VA-FORESTRY-LOGOThe 75 day spring wildfire season in the Commonwealth begins Sunday when the 4 p.m. Burn Law goes into effect. The law allows burning only between 4 p.m. and midnight. The Virginia Department of Forestry wants to remind citizens to be extra careful with any open-air fire from now through April 30th. The VDOF says just because you are allowed to burn after 4 p.m., it doesn’t mean that you should on certain days. If the wind speed is more than 20 miles per hour and humidity levels are below 30 percent, you should not light a fire. Starting a fire before 4 p.m. during the spring wildfire season is a Class 3 misdemeanor crime. To learn more about the Burn Law and alternatives to debris burning, you can click here.