COVID-19 resources

VDOT-LogoSnow plow operators and contractors with the Virginia Department of Transportation plowed secondary roads last night and will continue working on the routes today.  VDOT says almost all secondary roads in the Salem District have had at least one pass with a snow plow. The remaining roads to be plowed are subdivision streets in Bedford, Franklin and Roanoke counties, and crews expect to complete these routes by mid-day today. Plowed secondary roads are considered passable, but many remain covered in a frozen layer of packed snow and ice due to cold temperatures. Interstates and most primary roads are in minor condition, which means drivers should watch for isolated slick spots particularly in cooler areas such as bridges, overpasses, ramps, high elevations and shaded areas. The Salem District includes the counties of Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski, and Roanoke.